Question Quails?

OrganicDisposalInitiative

Premium Member
Feb 7, 2020
Climate
Temperate (all seasons)
So with all the unfortunate drama going on in the world currently I have found myself out in the garden working on a little project using scrap pallet wood, reused and recycled screws and nails as well as other bits and pieces. This is what is currently in progress and it will be used to house some quails.

I have a little question for those more experienced with keeping quails. How many would you say I could house in this set up but also, what type of quail? I would like to have them primarily for the eggs and then maybe a little down the track I may look into them for meat as well as possible breeding if I plan on going the meat route.

Cheers all.

Attachments

Vicky

Premium Member
GOLD
Mar 27, 2020
Climate
Temperate (all seasons)
I have no experience with keeping quail - but I have been seeing quite a bit in my cyber travels about quail lately :) First, are they going to be easy to get? Down here in South Australia, all the poultry have sold out really quickly from shops and fodder stores and the going price for heritage was $50 per bird in some places!!
Here is a bit from a Burkes Backyard episode that features quail in a small backyard:
Quails
A small-scale garden doesn’t mean you can’t have poultry to lay eggs and provide fertiliser. You just need to think small – quails! “Quails a fantastic alternative in urban areas where soil contamination, space and noise constraints may limit a flock of chickens” says Kat.

Kat’s Japanese quail (Coturnix japonica) are kept in a semi indoor coop on a concrete base with “deep litter”. You can use wood shavings, wood chips, autumn leaves, shredded paper and cardboard, which is eventually used as compost. Here are Kat’s Top Tips for keeping quails:

• As a rule of thumb keep 3 birds per square metre.
  • Quails are quiet, so won’t annoy neighbours with clucking.