New Member from New Zealand


May 16, 2023
Temperate (all seasons)
Hi I’m Lyndie and I’m a little addicted to gardening. Not only do I have lots of gardens at home, including a tunnel house, “paddock” garden, house gardens, an orchard and chickens, I also work “out the back” at a Garden centre near where I live, sowing seed, propagating, planting, weeding etc. I live in the Waikato, which is located just over an hour south of Auckland. I’m fortunate to live on 5 acres, so have the room to grow lots. We also grow our own meat, although at present we don’t have any beasts on the property and won’t until spring, when we will get a couple of weaner calves. I moved back home from Queensland at the end of 2020 to live with and look after my elderly parents, who don’t want to move off the property. My hubby still works and mostly lives in Australia as a FIFO worker, he comes back here every couple of months for a week. At present I’m planting cold winter crops and putting my “paddock” garden to bed for the winter, extending the “paddock” garden and sowing winter crop seeds, plus the onion family seeds. Cheers.

Grandmother Goose

Valued Member
Premium Member
Jun 30, 2021
Broken Hill NSW
Arid, Desert, or Dry
Welcome. The FIFO part of life must be a bit tough, though with that much yard and garden and animals and parents to look after, you'd surely be too busy to be moping around feeling miserable from missing him all the time, so it sounds like you've got it all figured out.
Top Bottom