Help with first year doing garlic

Mitchb777

Climate
Temperate (all seasons)
Hello! I have early Italian purple garlic I planted in October of 23 and the leaves have been turned brown and continuing to now (12th of April).

This is my first year with garlic and the stalks are huge, not the size I’ve seen in other videos and pictures. What is going on? Most others are skinny and have a big bulb but mine are huge and the same size of the sorta bulb? Lol

Attachments

• IMG_3596.jpeg
    IMG_3596.jpeg
    272.2 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_3597.jpeg
    IMG_3597.jpeg
    396 KB · Views: 19
  • IMG_3598.jpeg
    IMG_3598.jpeg
    396.3 KB · Views: 18
  • IMG_3599.jpeg
    IMG_3599.jpeg
    234.1 KB · Views: 13
  • IMG_3600.jpeg
    IMG_3600.jpeg
    296.7 KB · Views: 14

KIGardening

Premium Member
GOLD
Climate
Temperate (all seasons)
Welcome to the forum Mitch. Is it possible the cut one of your garlics in half? This way we can see what is going on inside the bulb.

Not all type of garlic species are suitable for your climate or time of the year planted. I found this out myself a few times.

Mitchb777

Climate
Temperate (all seasons)
Welcome to the forum Mitch. Is it possible the cut one of your garlics in half? This way we can see what is going on inside the bulb.

Not all type of garlic species are suitable for your climate or time of the year planted. I found this out myself a few times.
I will cut one and reply, I forgot to mention I am coastal Texas

Mitchb777

Climate
Temperate (all seasons)

Attachments

• IMG_3638.jpeg
    IMG_3638.jpeg
    209.7 KB · Views: 9

KIGardening

Premium Member
GOLD
Climate
Temperate (all seasons)
I have never seen this before. I would have expected to see some bulb shapes at least.

Did you grew the garlic from seeds or from cloves? If you grew them from seeds then they will not be true to type.

Mitchb777

Climate
Temperate (all seasons)