Hello from Sydney, Australia

Daniel RM

Premium Member
Climate
Temperate (all seasons)
Hello everyone,

Mmy name is Daniel, im a 37 year old man.
I live in Sydney, work as a Telecommunications Engineer (but more on the office side of things).
Though I have been into technology all my life (from being interested in electronics, computing and gadgets).
I am looking forward to get closer to nature.

I have very little experience in the garden. I hope to grow my own garden in my backyard. So far I have started with a basic self-assemble tumble compost and a small raised garden bed (with a plastic/greenhouse cover) [the one from Aldi].
Growing my first veggie/fruit will certainly help me take that first step :)
I later plan to expand by building my own garden beds and expand my plant empire. ;)

Hopefully one day I'll have the means to move out of the City of Sydney and to the outer parts of Brisbane.
Open to suggestions to what would be the best first veggie/fruit in a tiny bed, right now it is Winter where I am.

PS: Mark, big fan. Been watching several gardening videos on youtube, and your videos are the best.

AndrewB

Valued Member
Premium Member
GOLD
Climate
Temperate (all seasons)
Hi Daniel,

Radish are a great starter vegie, they grow faster than weeds, so it's good for keeping motivation when you can see the food popping out of the ground. They are great roasted.

Beetroot & Swiss Chard/Silverbeet are other quick growers that don't mind the cold & you can just harvest the leaves as you need them.

Reactions: DTK

Vicky

Valued Member
Premium Member
GOLD
Climate
Temperate (all seasons)
Hello and welcome Daniel, if you go to the Gardenate Web page you can subscribe to receive emails for your designated area that will remind you what you can plant in that month. The emails come out weekly too so you don't forget, that is, if you check emails regularly.

https://www.gardenate.com/

Daniel RM

Premium Member
Climate
Temperate (all seasons)