Durian Tree

Texas1836

Premium Member
GOLD
Climate
Temperate (all seasons)
Has anyone in the Tropics tried growing Durian? I know not a favorite amongst most (I like it), just curious how they do. Not possible in Texas.

krpga60

Premium Member
GOLD
Climate
Temperate (all seasons)
No answers. I am just learning and curious... What is durian? Fruit? Veg?
Happy Wednesday

Mandy Onderwater

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
GOLD
Climate
Sub-Tropical
Haha, I had to google it as well, so frankly no clue! If it is what I think it is though, it looks like a cooler climate type of fruit.

krpga60

Premium Member
GOLD
Climate
Temperate (all seasons)
Looks like it might be viable here-a-bouts... what is the taste though?

Mandy Onderwater

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
GOLD
Climate
Sub-Tropical
Looks like it might be viable here-a-bouts... what is the taste though?
I just googled it and the first thing that popped up was that the fruit apparantly stinks really badly! But other than that people have described it as a delicious, sweet fruit. Some described it as sweet custard with the texture of cheesecake!
This fruit can actually be illegal to carry around because it simply smells so bad! Other than that it's said to actually be quite a healthy fruit!

Mandy Onderwater

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
GOLD
Climate
Sub-Tropical
Sounds VERY interesting! Odd veg and fruits are always the best. Will check into this as I hope to become the organic restaurant garden in the area...
That sounds amazing! Are you growing any other unusual plants at the moment or do you have a list for things you intend to plant? :D

krpga60

Premium Member
GOLD
Climate
Temperate (all seasons)