Raised Garden Beds

PlaneDriver

Premium Member
Climate
Cold, Cool, Mountains, or Artic
Hi All,

My first post so please be gentle.

As a city boy, I am very new to gardening! Pretty well everyone I know is very unhelpful in the garden so the internet is now where it turn to! Been following Marks youtube videos and they're absolutely gold!

Been trying to use gardening as an approach to help family members get out of the house and benefit from the extra activity rather than being parked on the couch day in day out and have caught the gardening bug myself. Started with some small seedlings in pots from Bunnings which consisted of chilli and tomatoes then onto planting a lemon tree in the backyard. Gone from a backyard with absolutely nothing in it to a few pots and a tree now hoping to make the next step..

Looking to get a bit more adventurous now and impulse bought a raised garden bed from Bunnings with dimensions 200 x 100 x 41cm.

Question is, what soil would I use? I have tried to look around for different answers but most of them are for raised beds that are a bit taller. As this one is only 41cm tall, I've read that most veges will have their roots in 30cm of soil anyway so would it be right just to use a garden mix from the local supplier and that's it?

I'm planning to sow radish seeds into the bed to begin with as I understand they germinate the fastest and also are good for the soil as well

Any help will be really appreciated!

ClissAT

Valued Member
Premium Member
GOLD
Climate
Sub-Tropical
Hi there PlaneDriver, welcome.:wave:

So I first thought to see what part of the world you live in because we have members from all over, but your little box on left side of your posts says you are in a very cold region, arctic. mmmm I don't think there are any Bunning's up there. :) :think: I'm guessing you haven't gotten around to filling in that part of your profile yet?