Growing grapes in subtropical climate SE QLD

Discussion in 'Fruit 'n Nuts' started by Mark, Aug 22, 2013.

1. Mark

Mark Founder Staff Member

Remove Adverts
    (like this above)
    by registering!
    Register Now!
    Can I start by saying I'm not grape expert, actually I'm a complete novice as far as grape growing goes...

However, one thing that irked me when I first moved to a subtropical climate was the notion it was impossible to grow grapes in a hot humid climate and even if you could the vines would suffer and the fruit wouldn't be worth eating.

So, not to shirk a challenge I decided to see if I could grow grapes on my subtropical property. And, as you can see from the following images it not only is possible but it's also productive and completely busts the myth that it can't be done.

Yesterday, I trimmed my vine back as grape vines should be pruned each season whilst the plant is dormant (to prevent it from bleeding too much). The pruning gives the vine new vigour to regrow strongly from the remaining shoots to produce good growth and hopefully well formed fruit.

Grape growers usually grow vines in rows on wire trellises training the plant up a single stem then making a "T" at the top. Pruning back each year is a bit of an art and can be a little complicated to understand but the point I want to make for a home grower is don't be too worried about the finer details of grape growing because as passionate as some are about the "best" way to prune and care for a grape vine, the truth is once established grapes are pretty hardy and even if your pruning technique is amateur (like mine) great grape results can still be achieved with minimal effort.

For our first grape vine, we decided (as usual) to be unconventional and not grow it normally. Instead, I trained the vine up the side of our house to give the back view a more "softened" look (a Mediterranean feel) and we think it works rather well.